I don't know if anyone else does this, but I like to read the reviews that are left for fics I like. Sometimes it's just to see if the authors has left any clues in her responses to reviews, sometimes it's just to see what other people have to say that I might not have thought of.

Anyway, occasionally I come across some really dumb comments. Not the usual 'It was good. Plz update!11!!1!' crap, but really ignorant. The kind that makes you wonder if the person has been reading the same story you have. People just don't pay attention, and that frustrates the hell out of me.

Now don't get me wrong, I've speculated on stories and been wrong. That's not the sort of thing I'm talking about. It's one thing to pose possible scenarios based on what has actually happened in the story. It's something else entirely to envision fantasies the likes of which would put dementia patients to shame.

The morons will come up with some wild scenario that directly contradicts actual plot and say something like:

"OMG! Is that happening because blue monkeys rode out of Ginny's butt on skateboards because she didn't know that Draco had told everyone that they could use Ginny's intestines as a half pipe? And all the jumping around caused diverticulitis, which allowed the Dark Lord to be reborn because he's a butthead?"

Well, no dumbass, it's because of x plot point that was the focus of the entire previous chapter. Did you just skip that one?

And yes, I realize that I'm ranting about something completely insignificant. It's my journal. I'll rant when I want to. Stupid people with attention spans that don't quite rise to the level of a tsetse fly's annoy me. The end.

From: [identity profile] dragonsangel68.livejournal.com


I read reviews as well and have come across the WTF? ones, not to mention the ones I received for my fics. You just have to wonder about some people...

From: [identity profile] mugglechump.livejournal.com


I just roll my eyes and occasionally shout, "Are you stupid?" at the computer.

From: [identity profile] 60sfreak.livejournal.com


There are some...interesting reviewers out there. I'm not even talking about the nasty flaming ones, but the ones where they dislike a character for the wrong reasons, or yeah, just say weird stuff.

(That pseudo-review was freakin' hilarious. *snerk*)

From: [identity profile] mugglechump.livejournal.com


Flames suck, but it's the dumbasses that really get me. Seriously, I almost posted a second review on your story that said: People! The big lie would be the one where Ginny told Draco that she didn't love him! You know, as opposed to the one where she told him he was actually a Care Bear. It's not that freakin' difficult!

(Thanks. I liked it.)

From: [identity profile] jandjsalmon.livejournal.com


Oh my gosh, Kate - I do this too and it drives me MAD when you read some of the lame ass reviews that some people leave. Look - I ranted about it too - http://jandjsalmon.livejournal.com/45742.html SO choked about that one! It was SWEET? OH MY FRAKKING GOSH! It was an angsty heartbreaking fic - and a reviewer said - SOOO CUTE! AHGHG I wanted to hit my head against a wall that day. *nods* Wow... the dumbasses in the world, eh?

From: [identity profile] mugglechump.livejournal.com


I swear the world gets dumber every frickin' day! It's frustrating, very frustrating! *sigh* You and I should be the review police - taking people out whenever they leave a stupid review. Why leave one at all if you aren't even paying attention to the story? Grr.

From: [identity profile] jandjsalmon.livejournal.com


OOOh I shall make us icons that say that:

Jess and Kate - REVIEW POLICE!

Hee hee Hee!
.

Profile

mugglechump: (Default)
Kate

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags