mugglechump: (Bunny Stealth Ninja Pirates)
([personal profile] mugglechump Jul. 20th, 2006 10:36 am)
James and I went to see the new Pirates movie last night.



We had a good time and enjoyed the movie. It not nearly as good as the first one, in my opinion, but as sequels go it was pretty good. There were lots of funny parts, but they relied a lot more on sight gags this time (some that were a little gross), and less on actual witty repartee. And, simply because I like things to wrap up nicely, I found it a little irritating that the end was a cliffhanger. I can live with Jack's fate being up in the air, but it just irks me that the movie ended with Will thinking Elizabeth was running around on him with Jack.

Griping aside, though, I did enjoy it, and I'm sure I'll buy it when it comes out on DVD. The scene where they are fighting on the waterwheel was hilarious, as was Jack's kebab predicament. I love the undead monkey. I have to go back and watch the first one because I don't remember Bennett at all. I also don't remember enough to know how the guy with the fake eye and his companion escaped death at the end of the first movie.



I'm now dying to see the Will Ferrell movie that was promoed. Is it Ricky Bobby? That looks hysterical. James laughed so hard at the trailer, I was tempted to move down the row from him. Actually, I want to see pretty much all the movies that I saw trailers for last night. I don't even like Kevin Costner or Ashton Kucher, and I want to see their new movie. The Ben Stiller movie is a given. I love him. James will want to see the football movie with Mark Wahlberg, and I'll go along with that. I couldn't care less about football, but I think Mark Wahlberg's a surprisingly good actor.

We ordered Chinese for lunch. I hope it gets here soon, I'm starving.
ext_6537: (Default)

From: [identity profile] heyurs.livejournal.com

Hey there! :)


I know!! Poor ol' Will...he needs comforting ;) *raises hand...hell, jumps ON IT* Urrrrss! *cackles*

Chinese DOES sound yummy! ...I just have Lean Cuisine *sigh*

From: [identity profile] stellarlyssa.livejournal.com


I think the guy with the fake eye and his friend surrendered at the end of the battle thing towards the end, when the curse was lifted. So we all assumed that they were all killed, but I guess these two escaped. I suppose it's possible that they put on women's wear to escape notice.

I loved the wheel scene and the kebob scene, too. And I feel sorry for Will, but I've decided that I like Elizabeth better with Jack anyway. Hee. Next movie due out Memorial Day and then all your loose ends will be tied up!

*dies*

I just realized that I probably won't be in the country Memorial Day. Oh lord. This is not good. Not good at all.

Yum. Chinese. I want that now. Alas, it isn't likely to be.

*hugs*

/really long rambly comment

From: [identity profile] mugglechump.livejournal.com


Memorial Day? That's too far! *whines*

You'll be gone then, won't you? Hmm, well, I'm sure they'll have it in Europe around the same time. What language it will be in, I'm not sure. *pats* I'm sure you'll be able to see it.

There's definite chemistry between Elizabeth and Jack, but I don't think that it's really going to be explored. I think Will will find out that she was just using her wiles to keep Jack on the ship, and all will be forgiven. The Jack/Liz thing is just for added tension and amusement. I can't see Jack settling down with anyone.

*loves*

From: [identity profile] jane-valar.livejournal.com


Before the trailors even started one of the SEVEN obnoxious uncontrollable rude little girls who were sitting in front of me announced to everyone in earshot the ending. I wasn't really that upset, but my goodness if you're going to drag your daughter and seven of her closest friends to the movies you could at least keep them quiet.

"Did that blow your mind?! Yeah!? That just happened!"- Ricky Bobby

C'mon that was hilarious.

From: [identity profile] mugglechump.livejournal.com


Ugh. How annoying! We were lucky. Since it was a weeknight, the theater wasn't very crowded and most folks were quiet.

"Tom Cruise, use your witchcraft to get this fire off me!" - Ricky Bobby

Tee hee! I love Will Ferrell.
.

Profile

mugglechump: (Default)
Kate

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags