<.<

>.>

I should be working as I have quite a lot to do.  However, I feel the need to gripe and share and generally spam my flist.  So here I am.

Why is LJ double-spacing automatically?  That's kind of irritating.

So, I mentioned that Mer starts a job today.  This is her first 'real' job.  She worked as a soccer referee for a couple seasons, and she's helped out Becky & Manny at craft shows, but this is the first regularly scheduled work she's done.  She's already looking for a different place of employment.  Her Marketing co-op class requires her to work close to 400 hours before the end of the school year in order to get credit, and the hours she's getting at this job may not quite get her there.  Also, Mer would MUCH rather work at a clothing or shoe store than where she's working now.  Discounts on fashionable items are OMIGOD so cool.  In the meantime, though, she'll be making decent money ($8/hr), and getting off work before dinnertime.  Not bad, really, and I am super excited at the prospect of Mer having her own cash.  I am making her put away at least 20% of her paycheck.  She'll need to save up for gas and insurance costs, and possibly a car.

I went out at lunch today and got aggravated at the other drivers I encountered.  To make myself feel better, I will make the following statements:

1)  Merge lanes are for merging.  'Merge' does not mean stop and wait for a break in the line of traffic.

2)  Don't block intersections.  You will not get to your destination all that much sooner by holding up traffic.

3)  If you don't drive as fast as the rest of the folks on the road are going and/or you are not actively passing another car, stay out of the passing lane.

4)  If someone is trying to merge into traffic, let them.  No one thinks you are cool for trying to drive the poor soul that just wants to get on the highway into the guardrail or forcing him/her to slam on his/her brakes.

Some other pet peeves:

5)  Hey bonehead!  You see those cart returns that stores handily supply?  Put your freakin' cart there, not in the parking space next to your car.  It only takes a few extra moments.  And don't give me some bogus crap about not wanting to leave your kids in the car for the 30 seconds it takes to roll the cart to the appropriate place.  Either strap 'em in and keep an eye on the car, or bring them with you to the cart return.  You finagled your brood around the entire grocery store, I think you can manage to hold Junior's hand all the way back to the car.

6)  You there!  Pottymouth!  Be aware of your surroundings!  The mom and dad in the booth next to yours would rather not have their kids repeating your favorite four letter word to Grandma next Thanksgiving.

7)  To the guy at the one-hour photo wearing stilettos, a skirt, heavy make-up, and an enormous Michael Stipe-esque black feather coat with hair dyed in a very bright color not naturally found sprouting from follicles:  I don't mind that you express yourself through your clothing and hairstyle.  I am unconcerned with the sex of the person to whom you'll be going home.  However, don't get offended when people stare at your bizarre appearance.  You are outfitting yourself in a way designed to get people's attention.  Don't act like that's some big shock.  And especially, if a child asks why you look like you do, don't be an ass.

That's about all the bitching I have time for.  Thank  you for indulging me.


From: [identity profile] castoffstarter.livejournal.com


HAHAHAHA!

6 - It's my generation, the kids my age who don't know how to be respectful in a public place. They make me so flippin' angry. I'm 19 and want to wash my own peers mouths out with soap!

From: [identity profile] mugglechump.livejournal.com


It's more the age than the generation, unfortunately. Soap does seem like a good plan, though.

From: [identity profile] mynuet.livejournal.com


*fesses up to #5*

In my defense, if I leave Milo in the car with the groceries, I will come back to find cake all over the car, but if I take him away from the car containing the Most Holy Baked Good, I will have to haul a screaming, kicking, fighting dervish. And I take in carts from the parking lot to the store. And it's only if the cart return is far away that I'll place the shopping cart up in the corner between four parking spots, so that people can still pull in.

But, yeah, totally guilty.

From: [identity profile] mugglechump.livejournal.com


Most folks are not toting along a 100+ pound autistic child, but are simply too lazy to bother. Myself, I usually just try to park next to the return.

From: [identity profile] dragonsangel68.livejournal.com


My favorite parking spot is right next to one of the returns at our grocery store :) Number 7 made me laugh *giggles*

From: [identity profile] crazy-lil-loud1.livejournal.com


*hugs*

Everyone has their Oscar the Grouch days.

From: [identity profile] fly-to-dawn.livejournal.com


Responding to your comment on your LJ, because I think that when I respond to a screened comment, it unscreens....

Well, the thing is, I'm always the one who goes to get the post, so they never notice...when I got my postcard from joAnna I showed it to my parents, telling them that she was an old friend....but I do plan to tell them about MNFF & co. soon, though :)

*hugs*


ext_6537: (Default)

From: [identity profile] heyurs.livejournal.com


Preach it, Sister! *giggles*

#7...what do they expect?? o.O
.

Profile

mugglechump: (Default)
Kate

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags