So the run down of exciting things today.
Went to the immediate care place to get Mer's physical done. Insurance apparently would not have paid for it anyway, so the $60 I spent on that was comparable to what I'd have paid had I gone to our usual doctor. The physical was fine and dandy, except for a tremendous amount of earwax (Ew!) that had built up in each of Mer's ears. I feel compelled to say that the doctor specifically said this is not caused by bad hygiene, it's just that the wax sometimes dries out and gets compacted. Anyway, it took about half an hour (no kidding) to clean all that out. They neglected to mention that the immediate care ear wax cleansing procedure costs $106. Seriously. One hundred and six dollars. Oh. My. God. Had they mentioned this fact, I would have said, "You know what, we'll get our family doctor to take care of that - for the $10 co-pay."
And, since I'm impatient and couldn't wait to find out if Meredith's rash was something major, I had them look at that, too. Meredith doesn't have chicken pox, it's a strange little rash with no known cause that can stick around for up to six weeks. That diagnosis cost me *cough* $150. It's possible my insurance will pay some of that, but I'm not holding my breath. I doubt they'll see 'a strange little rash' as a justifiable reason to go to an immediate care facility.
So, total bill for our little trip to the doctor - $316 for a physical, earwax removal, and an innocuous rash you can't do anything for.
*facepalm*
Also, there is a thuggish girl threatening Meredith. I spoke with the school officer today about it, and he spoke to the girl and her father. Hopefully it will stop now. If not, I'll drag her punk ass into court because it is a felony to threaten someone via email. Usually I try to let kids work things out between themselves, but this girl's gone a bit far and I'm tired of it. Don't fuck with my kid.
I did end up getting a couple hours to myself. That part of the day was nice.
Also, big hugs and lots of love and prayers for Gina. I'm so sorry for what you're going through, love. I'm here if you need to talk.
Went to the immediate care place to get Mer's physical done. Insurance apparently would not have paid for it anyway, so the $60 I spent on that was comparable to what I'd have paid had I gone to our usual doctor. The physical was fine and dandy, except for a tremendous amount of earwax (Ew!) that had built up in each of Mer's ears. I feel compelled to say that the doctor specifically said this is not caused by bad hygiene, it's just that the wax sometimes dries out and gets compacted. Anyway, it took about half an hour (no kidding) to clean all that out. They neglected to mention that the immediate care ear wax cleansing procedure costs $106. Seriously. One hundred and six dollars. Oh. My. God. Had they mentioned this fact, I would have said, "You know what, we'll get our family doctor to take care of that - for the $10 co-pay."
And, since I'm impatient and couldn't wait to find out if Meredith's rash was something major, I had them look at that, too. Meredith doesn't have chicken pox, it's a strange little rash with no known cause that can stick around for up to six weeks. That diagnosis cost me *cough* $150. It's possible my insurance will pay some of that, but I'm not holding my breath. I doubt they'll see 'a strange little rash' as a justifiable reason to go to an immediate care facility.
So, total bill for our little trip to the doctor - $316 for a physical, earwax removal, and an innocuous rash you can't do anything for.
*facepalm*
Also, there is a thuggish girl threatening Meredith. I spoke with the school officer today about it, and he spoke to the girl and her father. Hopefully it will stop now. If not, I'll drag her punk ass into court because it is a felony to threaten someone via email. Usually I try to let kids work things out between themselves, but this girl's gone a bit far and I'm tired of it. Don't fuck with my kid.
I did end up getting a couple hours to myself. That part of the day was nice.
Also, big hugs and lots of love and prayers for Gina. I'm so sorry for what you're going through, love. I'm here if you need to talk.
Tags:
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I had this weird rash, and my teacher in 2nd grade swore that it was chicken pox so I got rushed home, and I went to the doctor and it turns out I had something called "5th disease." [ http://www.webmd.com/hw/health_guide_atoz/stf124065.asp?navbar=hw1039 ] -- Most likely she doesn't have that though. So just a rash about nothing. [I am having too much fun with webMD as you can see..]
I can emotionally disable this child if need be. Most likely she didn't get enough hugs as a child and now is looking to take out her anger on a poor soul who just so happens to be Mer. Let Mer know this has nothing to do with her *hugs both of you*
*big hugs for Gina too*
From:
no subject
Yay for Dumbledore quotes! There is a DD quote suitable for every occasion!
I appreciate your offer, but I suspect this child is beyond the help of hugs. I am not, though, so *hugs Emmie back*.
From:
no subject
*hugs Kate*
I can't stand teenagers.
From:
no subject
*hugs*
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
*hugs*
From:
no subject
That'll be 22.05 please! :)
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Lol. Earwax is ewww. I hate when doctor's look in my ears becasue all i cn think is "Everything is magnified and disgusting," lol.
And seriously - bulllying? I'm not the psoetr girl for it - I chickened out and changed schools - but as long as Mer is aware of who is she and her friends, and she knows she has a wonderful Mum, I don't think she'll hurt.
Bullying is stupidity. Swearing TO someone is stupidity. Emailing people? This girl kept emailing my sister, and I saw from the backlog that she'd been swearing, so BY HELL I stood up for my sister. Not swearing once, and stating that swearing at someone to pworve a point was stupidity, I protected my little sister.
You've done the right thing =-)
♥
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
>.>
Teenage pregancy freaks me out. I mean, could you be any more careless? I mean, how old is Mer? My age? I'm fifteen, and people have left school before me, because they've had kids!
If this girl is older than me, I guess it's okay. But.. I wouldn't do it myself.
Erm. Smoking and drinking probably isn't the best, either.
♥
From:
no subject
I had Meredith when I was 17. And yes, it's a very careless thing to do. Mer is 16 now.
This girl is 17, but she's nowhere near mature enough to raise a child. Most teens aren't.
From:
no subject
17 is old enough. You're smart, and mature and obviosuly intelligent to raise a child - this girl obviosuly isn't if she's petty and raising fights with girls younger than her.
I'm sorry if I offended you, but I'm just getting closer to the "age" and going O.o no way jose for me!
♥&herats; I hope Mer is okay!
From:
no subject
The 'no way Jose' plan is a good one. Stick with it!
From:
no subject
cough.
Hey, do you guys have the "Baby Bonus" over there? $4000 to help with the child? They've gotten rid of ithere, necause teenage girls apparently go out and spend it on plasma TV's, so they're giving it to you in 13 installments over 6months. the thing is, though, some people really need that bonus, and it's rearly unfair.
Hmm. I feel like starting an opinionated post, now!
♥
From:
no subject
As for thug!girl *smites her for you* I really detest teenage girls who think they can get away with bullying.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject