It's 3 a.m. and I just got home. We left for Mer's game at 7:40 or so because we needed to stop and pick her up some Propel (she just won't drink plain water, I've tried). The game was at 9:00. Our team got butchered. Seriously, it was horrible. Mercy rules came into play. Just bad, all around. One of our players threw up. Mer got a serious case of vertigo and passed out briefly (not actually on the field). I had to help her to the car because she was so dizzy and her vision was blurry. We went to the ER where she had:
- 2 chest x-rays
- EKG
- CAT scan of her chest with IV contrast
- Blood work
- Urine test
- 2 bags of IV fluids
- Blood pressure taken laying down, after sitting upright for 5 minutes, and after standing for 5 minutes
They thought about keeping her overnight, but decided she could go home. She can't participate in the bowling tournament in Richmond tomorrow, though, because they don't want her doing anything physical until we see a cardiologist on Monday. (This means her teammates, who she doesn't have contact information for, won't get to play because they won't have a full team.)
As dramatic as all this sounds, more than likely she just overexerted herself and was dehydrated and hadn't eaten enough. She was pretty out of it, though, so we needed to get her checked out.
Just as an aside, my daughter knows people everywhere we go. Her dad is the same way. They just know people. Everywhere. Mer even ran into someone she knew at an amusement park in Florida. Tonight was no exception. The boy 3 rooms down from Mer in the ER was a kid she went to middle school with and had kept in touch with. Mer's dad (he came out to the hospital) knew the kid's mom. So, Rob meandered between the two rooms chatting, and Mer had to stop and see Gregory (the seriously cute boy - all 6'5" of him) before we left.
Anyhoo, I'm tired. It's now nearly 3:30. I think I'll go to bed.
- 2 chest x-rays
- EKG
- CAT scan of her chest with IV contrast
- Blood work
- Urine test
- 2 bags of IV fluids
- Blood pressure taken laying down, after sitting upright for 5 minutes, and after standing for 5 minutes
They thought about keeping her overnight, but decided she could go home. She can't participate in the bowling tournament in Richmond tomorrow, though, because they don't want her doing anything physical until we see a cardiologist on Monday. (This means her teammates, who she doesn't have contact information for, won't get to play because they won't have a full team.)
As dramatic as all this sounds, more than likely she just overexerted herself and was dehydrated and hadn't eaten enough. She was pretty out of it, though, so we needed to get her checked out.
Just as an aside, my daughter knows people everywhere we go. Her dad is the same way. They just know people. Everywhere. Mer even ran into someone she knew at an amusement park in Florida. Tonight was no exception. The boy 3 rooms down from Mer in the ER was a kid she went to middle school with and had kept in touch with. Mer's dad (he came out to the hospital) knew the kid's mom. So, Rob meandered between the two rooms chatting, and Mer had to stop and see Gregory (the seriously cute boy - all 6'5" of him) before we left.
Anyhoo, I'm tired. It's now nearly 3:30. I think I'll go to bed.
From:
no subject
*snuggles*
Bowling tourney in Richmond?
From:
no subject
I hope Mer is ok and it's nothing at all.
Dan (my husband) played soccer in high school and during one of their all day tournaments, he had both legs cramp up so bad that he passed out due to pain. I don't think I've ever been so panicked in my life. I can't even IMAGINE seeing your own DAUGHTER do that.
I hope you got some rest after that crazy day!
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I don't think anybody can ever get out of the ER in less than six hours. Oh, that does make for a long, long night, doesn't it?
I'm hoping it was just dehydration. Athletic sorts use up a lot more water than the rest of us do, if for no other reason than they breathe faster when they're doing their sports. As we all know, exhaling uses up water.
I understand Mer's not liking plain water, though. I can taste stuff in water. This is one of the reasons I got started drinking tea--the tea, with some sugar, and maybe some milk, hides the basic taste of water.
From:
no subject
Oh my goodness! I'm glad she checked out OK so far. I hope nothing else comes from the tests. I was up til about 4 last night, too. *sigh* Letting s*** eat at me. :(
Give her my love and tell her better luck next time.
*hugs for you* ♥
From:
no subject
Shoot. I'm signed in as Cormac, sorry. :)